Crystal Reports…MUST…DIE!

On Wednesday, I was given the task of re-formatting a Crystal Reports report that is used to generate a form which is then filed with a government agency.  It’s been a long time since I’ve done Crystal Reports (over10 years), so I’ve been struggling a bit, but yesterday I finally got to the point where I’m now moving at a brisk pace, and I’m certain I’ll be done with it this evening–which is good, because it’s the showstopper that’s keeping an app from going into production.  More recently, I’ve been using the “client-side” variant of SQL Server Reporting Services.

Maybe it’s because I’m using the free version of Crystal that’s in VS.NET, but the toolbox choices are EXTREMELY LIMITED, and the formatting functionality is just…wierd.  Report margins, the layout rulers, and the layout grid all use inches as the unit of measure…but the controls you put on your reporting surface don’t–I think they use TWIPS.

Leave a Reply

